Tuesday, June 24, 2008

iTunes has a new Switchfoot release!

But unfortunately, it's not the "This Is Home" single we're hoping for. It is still pretty awesome though. It's a new Switchfoot "Artist Essentials" collection, something iTunes does with only more popular artists out there. Switchfoot finally has their own collection! (But where's the awesomeness of Drew Shirley in that cover artwork??!)


Here's the setlist:

The Basics

1. Meant to Live
2. I Dare You to Move
3. We Are One Tonight
4. This Is Your Life
5. Stars
6. Gone
7. Awakening
8. Someday We'll Know (Jon Foreman & Mandy Moore)
9. Chem 6A
10. Oh! Gravity.
11. Head Over Heels (In This Life)
12. New Way to Be Human
13. Learning to Breathe
14. Faust, Midas, and Myself
15. Happy Is a Yuppie Word

Next Steps

1. More Than Fine
2. The Beautiful Letdown
3. Dirty Second Hands
4. You
5. Company Car
6. You Already Take Me There
7. Spirit
8. Life and Love and Why
9. Sooner or Later (Soren's Song)
10. The Setting Sun
11. Only Hope
12. I Turn Everything Over
13. Amateur Lovers
14. My Love Goes Free (Jon Foreman)
15. Behind Your Eyes (Jon Foreman)

Not a bad list. It even has two of Jon's solo songs. I still don't understand why they keep including the "I" Dare You to Move version, rather than the one that is obviously better (The Beautiful Letdown version).


There's one other notable news story in these rather slow news days.

Here's part of an article that featured Chad Butler talking about various things, including his son's excitement about "This Is Home."

Note: Quoatation marks added

"I think people are excited when they hear a song in a movie or on TV, somewhere outside of a Switchfoot show. I get excited when people have an opportunity to hear our songs who wouldn't pick up a CD or come to a concert."

People watching the Disney Channel, maybe, or hitting the multiplex to see Prince Caspian.

"It was an honor to be involved in a C.S. Lewis project," Butler said. "The moviemakers were looking for a song for the movie. I think they had heard we were fans of the book."

"This Is Home," Butler said, "was inspired just by that theme of that sort of longing for a place we haven't seen yet."

"The funny thing is, now I've got kids - a 7-year-old [Evan] at home. He's just all about Prince Caspian,' running around with a plastic sword, singing This Is Home."

Read the rest here, where he talks about the whole "Christian by faith, not genre" bit that Christian music fans and journalists just never ever seem to get, among other things as well.


Keep voting for "This Is Home" on Radio Disney and VH1! We cannot slack off! lets make a stand for our guys, Footsoldiers!

No comments: