Tuesday, July 14, 2009

Switchfoot's "Hello Hurricane" UNLEASHES October 6; "Mess of Me" to Mainstream and Active Rock; "Always Yours" to CHR

EMI CMG has a release detailing, and introducing Switchfoot's new release. We now have a concrete release date, October 6, 2009.

We also have a comprehensive overview of the marketing that will take place for this album, and quite frankly, it sounds absolutely exciting. Here is the entire release, reproduced here:


“Hello Hurricane acknowledges the storms that tear through our lives,” states Switchfoot singer and songwriter Jon Foreman. “This album is an attempt to respond to those storms with an element of hope, trying to understand what it means to be hopeful in a world that keeps on spinning.”

With Hello Hurricane, Switchfoot is set to thrive in 2009 with a newfound independence: a new home studio HQ, a new label, and a return-to-roots creativity and sense of purpose. After ten non-stop years of working as the world’s most humble multi-million selling rock band, the hard-charging North County San Diego-based quintet saw recording sessions for their aptly-titled seventh full-length album as a unique chance to reassess, reflect, and rededicate.

“We built our own studio so we wouldn’t be paying and playing by the hour,” says Foreman of their self-styled Studio of the Foot home. Beginning in 2007, the band tracked more than 80 songs and allowed themselves to get lost in the music again and get back to basics. “That’s why we see this album as a new beginning of sorts,” continues Foreman, citing the inspiration that likewise moved bandmate/brother Tim Foreman (bass), Chad Butler (drums), Jerome Fontamillas (keyboards), and Drew Shirley (guitar). “For us it was a feeling of true freedom.”

The album’s driving and urgent “Mess of Me” – with its personal declaration of independence, as Foreman passionately announces to the world that “I wanna spend the rest of my life alive!” – powerfully demonstrates the edge behind the new tones. Not content to settle into a single groove, the band moves from the high flying album opener, “Needle and Haystack Life,” to songs like the stirring “Always Yours” and the sweetly soaring “Your Love is a Song,” which – by its very nature – cries out for many waving hands illuminated by a blue cell phone glow.

The anthemic, riff fueled “This is the Sound,” with its utterly timely generational themes, finds Foreman spitting, “This is the sound from the discontented mouths of a haunted nation!” The “Hello Hurricane” title track is even more poignant when it comes to the band’s perspective on themselves and the world around them. “I’m not talking about ‘Rock You Like a Hurricane,’” says Foreman with a wink before turning reflective. “There is a real despair that I see when we travel around the country… and its music that people turn to in a time like this. I wanted to reach out to those people with song.”


* Elaborate box set includes the following: Hello Hurricane CD; DVD featuring live and behind the scenes footage (Approximately 1 hour long); Additional live DVD; 85 page color book featuring images of the band in studio and on tour; Plus other exclusive content.

*Highly anticipated new album from Switchfoot (2 ½ years since last record)

*Very established, devoted fanbase. Over 4 million albums sold.

*Multi-format radio strategy: “Always Yours” goes to Christian AC / CHR in Mid August, “”Mess of Me” to Mainstream Rock, Active Rock & Christian Rock Mid Aug.

*Switchfoot is a highly active touring band: 15-20 City headlining tour in October around release of record. Opening act for 2 Dave Matthews Band shows in So. Cal (9/12-13). Co-headlining tour with Blue October in July / Aug (21 dates)

*Comprehensive Online campaign includes numerous streaming concerts for fans, promotions on all Social Networks and all key Christian websites

*Pitching major features and stories in Christian and Mainstream PR outlets.

*Delivering album and music video to 6,800 Church Youth Workers and 400 Church denominational leaders

*Music video for “Mess of Me” worked to all Christian and Mainstream outlets


Next, here's an email that Switchfoot sent out about the new packages announced yesterday. I'm really starting to dig the artwork, but here is the email in its entirety, below:

"Hello Hurricane acknowledges the storms that tear through our lives...this album is an attempt to respond to those storms with an element of hope, trying to understand what it means to be hopeful in a world that keeps on spinning." - Jon Foreman

Hola Amigos!

The time has come: Hello Hurricane is scheduled for an October release, with a pre-order starting in early August. We will let you know exact details later this month...

All pre-orders get an instant download of:
• 1st single "Mess Of Me"
• a few tunes from the "Best Yet DVD - Switchfoot Live In Nashville"
• Live in-studio video download of "Mess of Me"

Every physical copy of the record we ship will also receive the entire "Best Yet DVD - Live In Nashville" It was recorded on the Music Builds Tour and we're pretty amped for you to see how it turned out! We'll have these with us out on the road soon for the folks who pre-order the new CD at a show. 

Here are the 5 options to pre-order Hello Hurricane:

1. digital download of album
2. standard CD edition
3. vinyl with digital download of album
4. deluxe cd/dvd edition
5. collector's deluxe edition - includes cd/dvd/bsides, hardbound 84 page photo book, exclusive poster
Also, stay tuned for more info on Hello Hurricane listening parties... we'll have details coming at you soon. 

As always, thanks for listening, and hope to see you on the road soon. We can't wait for you to hear this one! 

- Tim, Chad, Jon, Jerome and Drew


It all sounds so beautiful. I would like to think that Switchfoot is going to work hard on the mainstream front as well. From the above outline of Switchfoot's "Hello Hurricane" marketing strategy, it is looking like a focus is being placed on mainstream outlest as well.

It's also really good to hear that Switchfoot is working "Mes of Me" to the Mainstream Rock/Active Rock demographic. Knowing that sometimes details aren't always completely transferred, I'm hoping Switchfoot gets a at the Modern Rock format as well, as that one is the biggest of the Rock-based formats. We shall see.

I'm also intrigued by the CCM-only single too, "Always Yours." Do you think it will sound like a Christian song? Or will it be accessible as a possible mainstream single as well in the future? I know it's kinda hard to tell, but just for the sake of discussion...

And also, what are you all going to do, as far as purchasing goes? Will you go with the digital download? Vinyl? Collector's Deluxe Edition? Discuss it all here! I like to talk. :]

No comments: